Wikia

Narutopedia

Changes: Narutopedia:Rollback

Edit this page

Back to page

m
m
Line 4: Line 4:
 
Anyone can [[w:c:help:Help:Reverting|revert]] vandalism and bad-faith edits, but it takes a couple of clicks in the page history to get it done. Users with the "rollback" permission are able to undo bad edits with one click, by using the rollback link on [[w:c:help:Help:Diff|diff pages]], user contributions list, or the list of [[w:c:help:Help:Recent changes|recent changes]].
 
Anyone can [[w:c:help:Help:Reverting|revert]] vandalism and bad-faith edits, but it takes a couple of clicks in the page history to get it done. Users with the "rollback" permission are able to undo bad edits with one click, by using the rollback link on [[w:c:help:Help:Diff|diff pages]], user contributions list, or the list of [[w:c:help:Help:Recent changes|recent changes]].
   
It is vitally important that '''any''' user with the rollback permission understands the purpose for which it was designed. '''Misuse of rollback will result in the permission being removed''' until such a time as the administration decides the user is capable of using it properly. Rollback should be used:
+
It is vitally important that '''any''' user with the rollback permission understands the purpose for which it was designed. Users should '''not''' request rollback if they do not understand its purpose, as '''misuse of the rollback power will result in the permission being removed''' until such a time as the administration decides the user is capable of using it properly. Rollback should be used:
 
* If the edit is obvious spam or vandalism
 
* If the edit is obvious spam or vandalism
 
* To revert own edits in the user's userspace
 
* To revert own edits in the user's userspace
Line 15: Line 15:
 
A list of rollback users can be found at: [[Special:Listusers/rollback]].
 
A list of rollback users can be found at: [[Special:Listusers/rollback]].
   
On Narutopedia, rollback is a viral permission. Any user with rollback has the ability to give the rollback permission to another user. If it's used to cause trouble rollback may be removed by any sysop or [[Project:Bureaucrat|bureaucrat]]. Users should '''not''' request rollback if they do not understand what it is for and will have it revoked until such a time as the user is aware of it's purpose.
+
On Narutopedia, rollback is a viral permission. Any user with rollback has the ability to give the rollback permission to another user. If it's used to cause trouble rollback may be removed by any sysop or [[Project:Bureaucrat|bureaucrat]].
   
 
[[Category:Rules|{{PAGENAME}}]]
 
[[Category:Rules|{{PAGENAME}}]]

Revision as of 19:18, July 7, 2013

See also: Narutopedia:Sysop

Anyone can revert vandalism and bad-faith edits, but it takes a couple of clicks in the page history to get it done. Users with the "rollback" permission are able to undo bad edits with one click, by using the rollback link on diff pages, user contributions list, or the list of recent changes.

It is vitally important that any user with the rollback permission understands the purpose for which it was designed. Users should not request rollback if they do not understand its purpose, as misuse of the rollback power will result in the permission being removed until such a time as the administration decides the user is capable of using it properly. Rollback should be used:

  • If the edit is obvious spam or vandalism
  • To revert own edits in the user's userspace
  • Accidental edits made by the user him/herself
  • To revert edits that were made by a banned user or
  • To revert widespread bad edits by a particular user or bot (in the unlikely circumstance the user is misguided or the bot is malfunctioning)

For more information on the appropriate use of rollback, please click this link

It is important to note that sysops already have rollback rights by default. Users with rollback rights are just users who are not necessarily a sysop. A list of rollback users can be found at: Special:Listusers/rollback.

On Narutopedia, rollback is a viral permission. Any user with rollback has the ability to give the rollback permission to another user. If it's used to cause trouble rollback may be removed by any sysop or bureaucrat.

Around Wikia's network

Random Wiki